Undo checkout of another user in tfs

Here is a familiar scenario:
someone does a checkout from a computer and forgets to check in. The computer is removed from network or the use is take off the project. Anyhow you end up with a file that is checked out to a resource no longer available.
Luckily there is a commandline option if you are an admin in the tfs server i questions.

The commandline :
 tf.exe undo /workspace:workspacename;owner "$/xxx/Code/References" /server:servername/noprompt

A real world example would be:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0>tf undo /workspace:PC-750328
;eriei$/BizTalk/Utility/Library/Main/Utility.Library/MessageContext.cs /server
:"tfs.eikeberg.com/defaultCollection"

The output form this is:
The operation completed successfully.  Because the workspace PC-750328;Andreas H
jelle is not on this computer, you must perform a separate get operation in that
 workspace to update it with the changes that have been made on the server.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Messaging Engine failed to register an adapter "WCF-BasicHttp". Details: "Registering multiple adapter types within the same process is not a supported configuration. For e.g. HTTP and SOAP receive adapters cannot co-exist in the same process

Fully Qualifyed Name

Using the BAM API to write BAM events from orchestrations